Yoga-Yajnavlkya/ Yajnavlkya gita

Yoga Yajnavlkya is a text on yoga attributed to Rishi Yajnavlkya and is in form of a dialogue between Yajnavlkya and Brahmvadini Gargi.

spread over 12 chapters it demonstrates the basics of yoga principles applicable to both men and women establishing the fact that in vedic India both men and women were entitled to spiritual pursuits.

it defines the eight limbs of yoga with slight differentiation wrt patanjali yoga sutras.

yajnavlkya lists 10 yamas ( moral restraints ) as  ahimsa (non violence), satya (truth) ,asteya (non stealing) ,brahmacharya ( sexual restraint) , daya ( compassion/ sympathy) , arjava ( sincerity, straight forwardness) , kshama ( forgiveness) , dhriti ( mental firmness) , mitahara ( controlled diet ), shaucha ( purity ).

ten niyamas- things to do :

tapas ( penance ) , santosha ( contentment ) ,astikeya ( truthfulness ) , dana ( donation ) , ishvarapuja ( prayers ), siddhanta sharavana ( leaning vedanta principles ) , hiri ( withdrawing from things which cause shame ) , mati            ( sacred beliefs ) , japa ( repeating sacred syllables), vrata ( path to ethical conduct ).

ten yamas and ten niyamas as opposed to 5 in patanjali yoga sutras.

the test also speaks about other limbs of yoga as  asanas, nadis, pranayama ( breath control ), pratyahara ( turning inwards, focussing ) , dharana ( self absorption ), dhyana and samadhi.

the sanskrit text can be seen here :



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: